The lilies

The lilies had
Disappeared
Completely hidden by a blanket
Of rerouted mourning.
I rock myself
To sleep like a broken child
I rock myself
To sleep just like
my mother used to do
When my fears kept on
Piling inside of me like ant hills.

The chalk outline dances
Grabs my hand
Leading
Tip toe quietly down the dark
Alley way.
With black eyes and
Toughened arms covered
In lines of raised pink and white.

The darkness undresses
It is unbuttoned with chance of
Sunlight. And the lilies smile again.

Leave a Reply

